With the recent string of famous sexual harassment scandals more people are coming forward about their own experiences. Victims of sexual harassment may wait to report their harassers for many reasons, including safety and stable employment. Some men and women in Arizona feel that they waited too long to file their harassment claim. This blog post will go over the time limits for sexual harassment claims and what you can do to protect yourself.
What does the law say about sexual harassment time limits?
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is a federal agency that enforces federal discrimination and harassment law. In Arizona, a person has 300 days from the date of the incident to file a claim with the EEOC. Even with this time, a person who experienced sexual harassment should contact an attorney and file their claim as soon as they can.
What if you are past the limit?
If you are past the 300-day time limit, you may still have a case. Even if you have waited, you should still tell your employer about sexual harassment as soon as possible. If your employer retaliates against you for reporting the incident, you may be able to file an employment law claim against them.
Here a few illegal actions employers can take after a person reports harassment:
- Demotion or job reassignment
- Reducing pay or hours
- Verbal or physical abuse
Many sexual harassers will not stop their behavior unless someone reports them. As the culture around workplace harassment changes, many people now feel empowered to report harassment. A skilled attorney can help you if you experience sexual harassment and worry about retaliation.